Moderation. It’s not really a thing I’m great at. Once I’m into something, I’m really into it. When I first discovered Andrew Jackson Jihad (look them up!) in middle school, they were playing on either my computer or iPod about 7 hours a day.  You’d think that maturing into adulthood would have restrained this tendency, but I’m just as violently interested.

Right now, my obsessions are a bit difficult to synthesize: three months ago I turned 21. Since then, I’ve been on a whirlwind path of cocktail discovery and preference development. Almost at the same time, I decided to sign up for my first 5K. From there I began to become increasingly interested in fitness and undertook various challenges, starting with Greatist’s five minute plank challenge and, mostly recently, the 100 pushup challenge.

It’s pretty clear why these two interests are difficult to pursue simultaneously. Alcohol has been proven to hinder post-workout recovery and, as the famed Freshman 15 makes very visible, is filled with empty calories.

So, how to balance these two worlds I’m entering? That’s what I’ll be exploring here.

