Whiskey Sours

Today was my last day of my last class of college. It’s crazy how quickly these years have passed. This class, Personal Finance, was a purely practical decision and not at all something that I was passionate about. Needless to say, at the end of this four week intensive, I’m quite happy to be done with it.

To celebrate, I decided to play around some with my favorite liquor: bourbon. I wanted to find a couple cold staples to keep in mind during the upcoming summer. Despite the fact that bourbon is far and above my liquor of choice, I have actually made very few of the classic bourbon drinks. So tonight I decided to try my hand at the good old whiskey sour as well as some other delicious bourbon drinks.

The recipe I found on Esquire was incredibly simple and simply scrumptious.

Whiskey Sour

Whiskey SourSour Close Up

2 oz whiskey
2/3 oz fresh lemon juice
1 teaspoon superfine sugar*

  1. Shake all three ingredients with ice
  2. Strain into a cocktail glass.
  3. Garnish with a lemon peel swath.

*To make super fine sugar, I put some normal table sugar in my magic bullet for about five seconds. There might still be a few larger grains, but for the most part it creates a very even consistency.

Next, I tried a drink that I’d never heard of before: a Gentleman Johnson. Fiancé tried it and quickly decided that this would be his drink of choice for the future.

Gentleman JohnsonGentleman Johnson

2.5 oz bourbon
5 oz unsweetened iced tea
1 oz triple sec
1 mint sprig
1 lemon wedge

  1. Fill a rocks glass with ice.
  2. Add the bourbon, Cointreau and iced tea and stir.
  3. Garnish with the mint sprig and lemon wedge.

This recipe is a slight variation from that on Food and Wine.

Finally, I crafted my own drink using some cucumber soda water I had in my fridge.

Cucumber Lemon FizzCucumberFizz

2 oz bourbon
1.5 oz lemon juice
cucumber soda (I used FOUND soda)

  1. Fill a highball glass with ice.
  2. Pour in bourbon, lemon juice, and cucumber soda to fill.
  3. Roll lightly to mix.

This drink was wonderfully light and refreshing. I think it will become a regular for this upcoming summer.

Of all the drinks I made, none of them were disappointing. Matt and I both found drinks that we’ll turn back to frequently. And finished off our Makers Mark in the process.

