My mornings invariably begin with breakfast. Not only is breakfast food some of my favorite that exists, but without it I also become a disruptive grump.

Fiancé, however, is not a fan of breakfast. It’s a struggle to get him to grab a breakfast bar, much less eat a well balanced meal.  I was raised on the concept that breakfast is an essential part of everyone’s day. Fiance’s lack of desire to eat it, therefore, distressed me.

Research is increasingly showing that breakfast consumption is not necessarily linked to good health. For some people, such as myself, it is a necessity to get through the morning hours, but for others, such as Fiance, it is a hassle and downright unpleasant.

My mornings invariably begin with breakfast. Not only is breakfast food some of my favorite that exists, but without it I also become a disruptive grump.

Fiancé, however, is not a fan of breakfast. It’s a struggle to get him to grab a breakfast bar, much less eat a well balanced meal.  I was raised on the concept that breakfast is an essential part of everyone’s day. Fiance’s lack of desire to eat it, therefore, distressed me.

Research is increasingly showing that breakfast consumption is not necessarily linked to good health. For some people, such as myself, it is a necessity to get through the morning hours, but for others, such as Fiance, it is a hassle and downright unpleasant.

If like me, breakfast is an important and enjoyable part of your day, finding healthy ways of enjoying this morning meal is essential.  Too many breakfast products are filled with sugar. And while I love a good doughnut as much as the next person, I prefer to keep it and sugary cereals in the realm of dessert. Here’re some ideas for healthy and balanced breakfast that will leave you just as pleased as a doughnut.

Oatmeal, graoefruit

Oatmeal Grapefruit and Green Tea

Oatmeal is a great filling and highly customizable option for breakfast. Paired with grapefruit, which is packed with vitamins, and green tea, which is full of antioxidants and has a substantial caffeine punch, you can find yourself enjoying a healthy meal in 10 minutes.

I prefer to buy steel cut oats because they go through less processing and their texture is also quite enjoyable. Additionally, I sweeten my oatmeal with a couple tablespoons of apple butter and fill the dish out with some slivered almonds.

Eggs and Veggies

Egg and Veggie Scramble

Protein rich eggs filled out with some veggies create a satisfying first meal that will keep your energy up until dinner. Easily customizable, I make some variation of this dish at least twice a week.

This bowl is made of two eggs, one large tomato, deseeded, two medium carrots, and half a cup of frozen spinach. I really like garlic and cayenne pepper, so those are the only two seasonings I use.

Soft Boiled Eggs and Chia Seed

Soft Boiled Eggs and Chia Seeds

This meal is pretty much pure protein and fat, but some mornings that’s all I want. I’ve always loved boiled eggs, and since I discovered the joy of a slightly runny yolk they have made it even higher on my list of favorite foods. I’m very much a texture person, so sprinkling some chia seeds on the yolk adds even more joy to my favorite convenience food. I recently bought Healthworks Pesticide and Chemical-Free Chia Seeds from Amazon and it’s lasted for 6 months of regular use.

When I do eat this for breakfast I always make sure to include extra fruit and vegetables later in the day to compensate for the omission from breakfast.

Express Meals
All of the previous breakfasts required between 5 and 15 minutes to pull together. We all have those days, however, when we either oversleep or wake up ravenously hungry and simply cannot spend that long making breakfast. For those days these two meals are my go to’s.

Apples and almonds

Apples and Almonds

Whether you slice the apple or just take a big bite, apples are full of fiber, vitamin C, and antioxidants. Almonds provide hunger fighting protein and fat while also adding a nice textural element.

When I am in a true hurry to get out the door, I’ll often just grab an apple and a handful almonds and alternate eating each as I’m on my way.

Greek Yogurt

Greek Yogurt ( With Fruit and Chia Seeds)

I love greek yogurt. I especially love the ease with which I can make it into a healthy breakfast that still tastes great. As with all of the other staples I’ve mentioned, greek yogurt is packed with protein. It is also a good source of probiotics and has plenty of calcium, potassium, and B12.

Depending on the time I have to expend that morning, my greek yogurt might simply have a dash of cinnamon and some honey to sweeten it or it might have chopped and spiced apples.  Pictured is greek yogurt with orange slices for a boost of vitamin C and chia seeds for some healthy omega-3 fatty acids.

Whether you, like me, are an avid breakfast enthusiast or simply an occasional dabbler, I hope that the next time you eat you’ll grab one of these, or many more, healthy options.

