DIY Apple Pie Bourbon

Since I was a little kid one of my favorite desserts has been a good Dutch apple pie. The
delicious, crumbly topping that gives way to sweet and tart cinnamony apples. Whenever my family bought a pie they’d have to put a hard limit of two pieces on me to prevent me from eating the whole thing.

When my friends and I visited bourbon distilleries in Louisville, I tried something that has lingered in my mind: apple pie bourbon. The flavors perfectly captured my favorite childhood dessert and I’ve wanted more of it ever since. With the abundant supply of apples available this fall, I decided to try my hand at making my own DIY apple pie bourbon.

It turned out to be just as good, even better in my opinion, as the apple pie bourbon I had in Louisville. The night after finishing it Fiance and I and I sipped on it warm, room temperature, and cold. Warm was by far the winner, since it made it even more reminiscent of a freshly baked pie and made the whole house smell fantastic. Room temperature was also good, but I do not recommend cold because the flavors do not shine through quite as well.
Apple Pie Bourbon Beginning*I infused the spices and apples separately so that I could get exactly the flavor I wanted. For my taste, I allowed the spices to infuse for six days and the apples for five. I found that after the first three days the apple flavor stopped intensifying, so I strained the apple out and replaced it for the next two days.

Apple Pie BourbonIngredients Apple Pie Bourbon

1-2 Your favorite apples (firm apples
work best)
2 (4-inch) Cinnamon Sticks
1/2 Vanilla Bean (Split down the middle)
1/3 tsp Ground Nutmeg
(Optional) 1/4 tsp ground cardamom
.750 L Bourbon
1/3 cup Simple Syrup

  1. Sterilize two 75 L glass containers.
  2. Cut one apple into 1/2 in chunks. Place the apple chunks into one of the sterilized containers.
  3. Place the cinnamon sticks, split vanilla bean, nutmeg, and cardamom (if using) in the other glass container.
  4. Pour bourbon to cover the apples and spices and place bottles away from direct light.
  5. Taste each container and shake daily.
  6. If needed, strain the apples from the bourbon and repeat the process.
  7. Once each mixture reaches your desired strength, strain it and pour it into your final bottle/s.
  8. Add simple syrup and allow the flavors to meld for at least one day.

Enjoy!

