Tutti Fruitti Infused VodkaAs far back as I can remember, my sister has been obsessed with Tutti Fruitti Jelly Bellys. Whenever we so much as walked by a candy store she would insist on buying the sweet and fruity treat. While she has definitely become conscious of eating healthier, I know that those Jelly Bellys still hold a special place in her heart. Naturally, when her birthday came around, I decided to combine my newfound interest with her old love to make her a special birthday present- Tutti Fruitti infused vodka.

While my family had a celebratory dinner for her birthday, my sister and her husband also decided to have a little get-together for her friends. Hanging out with my sister’s friends is always kind of awkward. They’re nice enough, but they’re also all eight years older than me and just part of a different world. Most of them have begun real careers and a set trajectory for their lives. So when she invited me to the party, I was a bit hesitant. I wanted to help her celebrate, but I’m also hopeless at socializing when I’m uncomfortable. Luckily, I decided to go. I felt super awkward at first, but by the end of the night I was chatting like the finest of extroverts.

I also got to try some moonshine that my brother-in-law had made and was surprised by its drinkability. It still, of course, had the typical harshness of moonshine. Fortunately, we had the sweet Tutti Fruitti infused vodka to follow it with.

SeparateTutti Fruitti Infused Vodka

2/3 cup Tutti Fruitti Jelly Bellys
750 mL Vodka
2-3 Fruit Punch Jolly Ranchers (optional)

  1. Sterilize a 1 quart glass jar.
  2. Add the Tutti Fruitti Jelly Bellys, Fruit Punch Jolly Ranchers, and vodka.
  3. Store away from light and shake every day.
  4. Allow to infuse for one week.
  5. Strain out the remaining solids and repackage your delicious new vodka.

As I infused the vodka it soon became clear that one of the very cute aspects of the Tutti Fruitti Jelly Belly would actually lead to a very not cute drink. The multi-colored dots made the infusion a thoroughly unpleasant purpleish brown. Since I wanted to gift the drink, its appearance was very important to me. So, I added a couple Fruit Punch Jolly Ranchers to obtain a more pink color. However, if you don’t mind the color and want to stay truer to the Tutti Fruitti flavor (the Fruit Punch changed the flavor just a bit), you can leave the Jolly Ranchers out.

I found this infused vodka a bit too sweet to sip straight, but thoroughly enjoyed it when made into a tall drink with ice and soda water.

How would you use this Tutti Fruitti infused vodka?

