Coffee BittersI may have mentioned how much I like My take on coffeecoffee before. In fact, I adore coffee. Coffee keeps me happy, which keeps those around me happy.

Coffee and booze together make an extra nice treat. Unfortunately, my insomnia keeps me from consuming much caffeine after 6:00 p.m. So, the first time I saw coffee bitters I immediately viewed it as the solution to my evening boozing.

They’re relatively easy to make, and like all bitters, just involve a fair amount of waiting. For these bitters, the bittering agent and main flavoring agent are one in the same. While the result may not be quite as bitter as if a more typical bittering agent, such as gentian root, licorice root, mugwort, or quassia bark, was used, the espresso still gives off a good amount of bitterness.

2 tbsp ground espressoCoffee Bitters Infused
2 small cinnamon sticks
1/4 tsp chili flakes
1/4 tsp cardamom
1/4 tsp clove
5 oz 100 proof vodka

  1. Allow all components to infuse for between two weeks and two months.
  2. Taste test every week to achieve the desired flavor.
  3. Strain and store in a dropper or spray bottle for convenient use.

Coffee Bitter Old Fashioned

The resulting bitters can be used in many different cocktails. My favorite use is in a rye Old Fashioned cocktail to replace to Angostura bitters.
4 dashes coffee bitters
1 tsp sugar
2 oz rye whiskey
1 splash club soda

  1. Muddle the sugar and coffee bitters.
  2. Add the rye and stir.
  3. Top with club soda.

While it goes particularly well in this Old Fashioned, the coffee bitters would go nicely in most bourbon cocktails that are not fruity.

Enjoy!

